

2023 Induction Ceremony

Halifax Convention Centre | June 22, 2023 Halifax, NS

SELECTION COMMITTEE

RODERICK McINNES, OC OOnt MD PhD FRSC (Chair)

Alva Chair in Human Genetics, Professor of Human Genetics and Biochemistry; Senior Investigator, Lady Davis Institute, Jewish General Hospital, McGill University, QC

DAVID ANDERSON, MD FRCPC FACP

Dean, Faculty of Medicine Dalhousie University, NS

NARANJAN DHALLA, CM OM PhD FRSC

2019 CMHF Laureate

Distinguished Professor, University of Manitoba Director of Cardiovascular Developments, Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences, St. Boniface Hospital Albrechtsen Research Centre, MB

VLADIMIR HACHINSKI, CM MD DSc FRCPC

2018 CMHF Laureate

Professor of Neurology and Distinguished University Professor, Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry, Clinical Neurological Sciences, Western University, ON

FRANCE LÉGARÉ. MD MSc PhD CCMF FCMF

Professeure titulaire, Université Laval Département de médecine familiale et de médecine d'urgence, Chaire de recherche du Canada sur la décision partagée et l'application des connaissances QC

ANNE MARTIN-MATTHEWS, OC PhD FCAHS

Professor of Sociology The University of British Columbia, BC

PHILIP MARSDEN. MD

Platform Director, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science, St. Michaels Hospital; Professor of Medicine, University of Toronto, ON

ROBYN TAMBLYN, CM BScN MSc PhD FCAHS FRSC

Distinguished James McGill Chair & Professor, Departments of Medicine and Epidemiology, Biostatistics & Occupational Health | Director, Division of Clinical Epidemiology, MUHC | Scientific Director Clinical & Health Informatics Research Group, McGill University, QC

LORI WEST, OC MD DPHIL FRSC FCAHS

Professor of Pediatrics, Surgery, Medical Microbiology/Immunology and Laboratory Medicine/Pathology, University of Alberta Director, Alberta Transplant Institute Director, Canadian Donation and Transplantation Research Program, AB

CORNELIA (NEL) WIEMAN, MSc MD FRCPC

Deputy Chief Medical Officer, First Nations Health Authority, BC

SELECTION CRITERIA AND CATEGORIES

Canadian Medical Hall of Fame Laureates are Canadian citizens whose outstanding leadership, integrity and contributions to medicine and the health sciences, in Canada or abroad, have led to extraordinary improvements in human health.

Their work may be a single meritorious contribution or a lifetime of superior accomplishments. Pioneers in their field, they are role models who inspire young Canadians to pursue careers in the health sciences.

Laureates include worthy nominees from a variety of disciplines and from many professions and roles including doctors, researchers, nurses, dentists, pharmacists, policy makers - to name only a few. Nominations of Canadians, living or posthumous, who meet the criteria from the many aspects of health are encouraged.

Up to six individuals may be selected for induction annually; only one individual may be inducted posthumously each year.

Canadian citizens from across health professions within Canada and across the globe may be recognized for their work in one or more of the following categories:

- . Leadership in building excellence in health for Canadians and the world
- Leadership in health promotion, illness prevention and care
- · Leadership in research with national and international recognition for a scientific contribution