Laureate Selection Committee

Inductees are selected by a committee of prominent health and medical professionals from both the national and international communities. Appointed by the CMHF Board of Directors, the committee completes their review at arm's length from the Board.

Our 2023 committee members...

Robyn Tamblyn, CM BScN PhD FCAHS FRSC
Committee Chair
Distinguished James McGill Chair & Professor
Department of Medicine, Department of Epidemiology, Biostatistics & Occupational Health | Director, Division of Clinical Epidemiology, MUHC | Scientific Director, Clinical & Health Informatics Research Group
McGill University, QC

Annette O'Connor, OC PhD FRSC FCAHS
2020 CMHF Laureate
Emeritus Professor/Distinguished University Professor, School of Nursing, University of Ottawa, ON



David Anderson, MD FRCPC FACP
Dean, Faculty of Medicine
Dalhousie University, NS

Martin Schechter CM OBC MD PhD FRCS FCAHS
Professor, School of Population and Public Health The University of British Columbia Faculty of Medicine, BC

Naranjan S. Dhalla, CM OM PhD FRSC
2019 CMHF Laureate
Distinguished Professor, University of Manitoba
Director of Cardiovascular Developments, Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences, St. Boniface Hospital Albrechtsen Research Centre, MB


Professor of Pediatrics, Surgery, Medical Microbiology/Immunology and Laboratory Medicine/Pathology, University of Alberta
Director, Alberta Transplant Institute
Director, Canadian Donation and Transplantation Research Program, AB


France Légaré, MD PhD CCMF FCMF
Professeure titulaire, Département de médecine familiale et de médecine d'urgence, Université Laval
Chaire de recherche du Canada sur la décision partagée et l'application des connaissances QC

Cornelia (Nel) Wieman, MD FRCPC
Deputy Chief Medical Officer, First Nations Health Authority | President of the Indigenous Physicians Association of Canada, BC

Philip Marsden, MD
Platform Director, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science, St. Michael's Hospital
Professor of Medicine, University of Toronto, ON





Jim Woodgett, PhD
Senior Scientist
Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute, Toronto ON





About the CMHF

The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame (CMHF) celebrates Canadian heroes whose work advances health in Canada and the world, fostering future generations of health professionals through the delivery of local and national youth education programs and awards.

This enduring tribute to our country’s rich medical history is showcased here and in our physical exhibit hall in London, ON.