Laureate List

For clickable links to Laureate pages, scroll down

Printable List of Laureates      CMHF Podcast Series

Laureate Selection Committee - 2024



Maude Abbott, MD* (1994)  

Albert Aguayo, MD (2011)

Oswald Avery, MD* (2004)



Elizabeth Bagshaw, MD* (2007)

Sir Frederick Banting, MD* (1994)

Henry Barnett, MD* (1995)

Murray Barr, MD* (1998)

Charles Beer, PhD* (1997)

Sir John Bell, BMBCh DM (2022)

Bernard Belleau, PhD* (2000)

Philip Berger, MD (2018)

Michel G. Bergeron, MD (2017)

Alan Bernstein, PhD (2015)

Charles Best, MD DSc* (1994)

Norman Bethune, MD* (1998)

John Bienenstock, MD* (2011)

Wilfred Bigelow, MD* (1997)

Michael Bliss, PhD* (2016)

Stephen Blizzard, MD* (2023)

Roberta Bondar, MD PhD (1998)

John Bradley, MD* (2001)

Henri J. Breault, MD* (1997)

G. Malcolm Brown, MD DPhil* (2000)

John (JSL) Browne, MD PhD* (1994)

Alan Burton, PhD* (2010)



Elaine Carty, MSN CNM (2023)

G. Brock Chisholm, MD* (2019)

Harvey Chochinov, MD PhD (2020)

Bruce Chown, MD* (1995)

Michel Chrétien, MD (2017)

William A. Cochrane, MD* (2010)

May Cohen, MD (2016)

James Collip, MD PhD* (1994)

Douglas Copp, MD* (1994)

Pieter R. Cullis, PhD (2024)

Max Cynader, PhD (2014)



Félix d’Hérelle* (2007)

Ste Marguerite d’Youville* (2003)

Paul David, MD* (2011)

Adolfo de Bold, PhD* (2014)

Naranjan S. Dhalla, PhD (2019)

John E. Dick, PhD (2024)

Thomas Dignan, MD* (2022)

John Dirks, MD (2012)

James A. Dosman, MD (2019)

The Honourable Thomas Douglas* (1998)

Charles Drake, MD* (1994)

Daniel J. Drucker, MD (2022)

Jacalyn Duffin, MD PhD (2019)

Jean Dussault, MD* (2007)



Connie Eaves, PhD (2019)

John Evans, MD DPhil* (2000)



Ray Farquharson, MD* (1998)

The Honourable Sylvia Fedoruk, MA* (2009)

William Howard Feindel, MDCM PhD* (2003)

B. Brett Finlay, PhD (2018)

C. Miller Fisher, MD* (1998)

John FitzGerald, MD PhD* (2004)

Claude Fortier, MD* (1998)

Terry Fox* (2012)

Armand Frappier, MD* (2012)

F. Clarke Fraser, MD PhD* (2012)

Henry Friesen, MD (2001)



William Gallie, MD* (2001)

Jacques Genest, MD* (1994)

Gustave Gingras, MD* (1998)

Phil Gold, MD PhD (2010)

Richard B. Goldbloom, MD* (2017)

Jean Gray, MD (2020)

Wilfred Grenfell, MD* (1997)

Gordon Guyatt, MD (2016)



Vladimir Hachinski, MD (2018)

Antoine Hakim, MD PhD (2013)

Justice Emmett Hall* (2017)

Judith Hall, MD (2015)

Catherine Hankins, MD PhD (2024)

Michael Hayden, MD PhD (2017)

Donald O. Hebb, PhD* (2003)

Carol P. Herbert, MD (2023)

Jack Hirsh, MD (2000)

James Hogg, MD PhD (2010)

Charles Hollenberg, MD* (2003)

David Hubel, MD* (2006)

Charles Huggins, MD* (2003)



Herbert Jasper, MD PhD* (1995)

David J.A. Jenkins, DM (2022)

Harold Johns, PhD* (1998)





The Honourable Wilbert Keon, MD* (2007)

Leonora Howard King, MD* (2000)



The Honourable Marc Lalonde* (2004)

Bernard Langer, MD* (2015)

Charles Leblond, MD PhD* (1995)

Maurice LeClair, MD* (2004)

Heinz Lehmann, MD* (1998)

The Honourable Peter Lougheed* (2001)



Noni MacDonald, MD (2024)

Walter C. Mackenzie, MD* (2014)

Peter T. Macklem, MD* (2012)

David MacLennan, PhD* (2013)

John James R. Macleod, MD ChB* (2012)

Tak Wah Mak, PhD (2009)

Venerable Jeanne Mance* (2020)

Marco Marra, PhD (2020)

Joseph Martin, MD PhD (2020)

Pierre Masson, MD* (1997)

John McCrae, MD* (2015)

Ernest McCulloch, MD* (2004)

John McEachern, MD* (2006)

Allison McGeer, MD (2024)

Ian McWhinney, MD* (2006)

Jonathan Meakins, MD* (2011)

Jonathan L. Meakins, MD (2022)

Ronald Melzack, PhD* (2009)

Maud Menten, MD* (1998)

Brenda Milner, PhD (1997)

Julio Montaner, MD (2015)

Frederick Montizambert, MD* (2001)

Balfour Mount, MD (2018)

T J. (Jock) Murray, MD (2014)

J. Fraser Mustard, MD PhD* (2003)

William Mustard, MD* (1995)


N - O

Arnold Naimark MD (2013)

C. David Naylor MD (2016)

Robert Noble, MD PhD* (1997)

Annette O'Connor, PhD (2020)

Sir William Osler MD* (1994)



Anthony Pawson, PhD* (2006)

Wilder Penfield, MD* (1994)

M. Vera Peters, MD* (2010)



Rémi Quirion, PhD (2019)



Cheryl Rockman-Greenberg, MD (2018)

Sir Thomas Roddick, MD* (2024)

Allan Ronald, MD (2011)

Noralou P. Roos, PhD (2022)

Jean-Lucien Rouleau, MD (2023)

Claude Roy, MD* (2013)

Ian Rusted MD* (2013)



David Sackett, MD* (2000)

Robert B. Salter, MD* (1995)

Charles Scriver, MD* (2001)

Hans Selye, MD PhD* (2006)

Louis Siminovitch, PhD* (1997)

F. Estelle R. Simons, MD (2017)

Duncan G. Sinclair, PhD (2015)

Michael Smith, PhD* (1995)

Nahum Sonenberg, PhD (2023)

Bette Stephenson, MD* (2013)

Calvin R. Stiller, MD (2010)

Emily Stowe, MD* (2018)



Charles Tator, MD PhD (2009)

Lucille Teasdale-Corti, MD* (2001)

James Till, PhD (2004)

Lap-Chee Tsui, PhD (2012)

Endel Tulving, PhD* (2007)

Sir Charles Tupper, MD* (2016)

D. Lorne Tyrrell, MD PhD (2011)


V - Y

Mladen Vranic, MD DSc* (2009)

Mark A. Wainberg, PhD* (2016)

Samuel Weiss, PhD (2023)

Ronald Worton, PhD (2014)

Salim Yusuf, MBBS DPhil (2014)




About the CMHF

The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame (CMHF) celebrates Canadian heroes whose work advances health in Canada and the world, fostering future generations of health professionals through the delivery of local and national youth education programs and awards.

This enduring tribute to our country’s rich medical history is showcased here and in our physical exhibit hall in London, ON.