Board of Directors

2022 - 2023
The CMHF Board of Directors comprises professionals and academics from across Canada serving three-year terms (with the opportunity to serve a second term). The Board sets the policy and strategic direction of the CMHF.
Retired directors appointed to recognize exemplary service to the CMHF

Bryce Taylor, CM MD FRCSC FACS


Cindy Forbes, MD CCFP FCFP   
Canadian Medical Association Liaison  Clinical Faculty Appointment, Department of Family Medicine Dalhousie University

William L. Orovan, MD MBA FRCSC FACS
(Past Chair)
Vice Dean, Clinical Services and Commercial Enterprises, Faculty of Health Sciences, McMaster University

Derek Bodkin, CPA CMA   
VP Insurance New Business
Individual Customer
Canada Life

Betty Jean (BJ) Hancock, MD FRCSC FACS
Liaison, Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, Pediatric Surgeon and Intensivist, Department of Surgery, Children’s Hospital of Winnipeg

Lehana Thabane, PhD 
Professor, Department of Health Research Methods, Evidence & Impact, McMaster University | VP Research, St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton | Scientific Director, The Research Institute of St. Joe's Hamilton

Ronald Worton, OC PhD DSc FRCPS(hon)
2014 CMHF Laureate | CEO & Scientific Director Emeritus, Ottawa Hospital Research Institute 
See Dr. Worton's Laureate Page here


Louis Hugo Francescutti,  MD PhD MPH FRCPC CCFP(PC) FACP CCPE ICD-D
Liaison, Canadian Medical Association Edmonton

Lucie Germain, PhD CAHS
Professor (Full), Department of Surgery
Laval University

Changseok (Freddy) Lee
2020 CMHF Award Recipient (Dalhousie University), MD Candidate 2022

Dean, Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry, Western University

Greta Cummings, RN PhD FCAHS FAAN FCAN
Dean, College of Health Sciences, University of Alberta

Alysia Christiaen, LLB
Partner, Chief Privacy Officer
Lerners LLP

Preston Smith, MD MEd CCFP FCFP CCPE
Liaison, College of Family Physicians of Canada
Dean, College of Medicine
University of Saskatchewan

Mario Talajic, MD
Director, Department of Medicine
Université de Montréal

Mira Villegas
MD Candidate 2023
Liaison, Canadian Federation of Medical Students

Lissa Foster (Ex-officio)
Executive Director, London ON


Download a pdf list




About the CMHF

The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame (CMHF) celebrates Canadian heroes whose work advances health in Canada and the world, fostering future generations of health professionals through the delivery of local and national youth education programs and awards.

This enduring tribute to our country’s rich medical history is showcased here and in our physical exhibit hall in London, ON.